Skip links

Magnetic Resonance Imaging(MRI)

Below is the information about the side effects of MRI, comparison among different types of medical scanning procedures, the latest MRI technology and our clinic’s offerings.

MRI Uses


MRI gives clearer and more detailed images of soft tissue parts of the body than any other imaging methods and therefore is frequently used to assess areas such as the brain, spine, joints, heart, abdomen and blood vessels. Take cancer as an example. MRI can help detect the location and stage of the tumor and monitor the changes of the tumor before and after treatment, such as detecting the signs of spreading. The doctor will decide whether the patient is fit for an MRI scan. In general, an MRI scan takes approximately 30 minutes.

Due to the strong magnets used during the scan, patients must remove any metal from their bodies before getting scanned to avoid accidents. Patients with certain metal implants or fragments such as a cardiac pacemaker, metal spine device, aneurysm clips or hearing aid implants are strongly advised against undergoing the MRI examination. However, patients with dentures should be fine to proceed with an MRI scan.

What are the side effects of MRI?


Because MRI does not involve any ionizing radiation, there will be no risk of exposure to radiation during an MRI scan. In general, discomfort does not occur after getting an MRI assessment, although in some cases people might develop allergic reactions to MRI contrast dye.

MRI side effects | Allergic reactions to MRI contrast dye

Contrast dye is injected into a blood vessel and in general, it is very safe, though not every patient will need a contrast dye injection. Some people might develop allergic reactions to the contrast dye. About 1% of patients receiving an MRI scan may experience mild side effects such as itchy skin, nausea, pain in the injected area, or feeling cold or hot.

For more severe side effects, patients might experience bronchospasm and severely low blood pressure. Patients with severe kidney failure or who undertake hemodialysis might develop nephrogenic systemic fibrosis (NSF) as a result of the allergic reactions to contrast dye. Severe reactions can be fatal, although it would be extremely rare.

MRI side effects | Pregnancy

So far it remains unknown how MRI affects patients during pregnancy. In general, patients less than 12 weeks pregnant are not advised to get an MRI scan, while patients who are breastfeeding will not be affected by the MRI contrast dye. If a contrast dye injection is required for the scan, we advise that patients who are breastfeeding should prepare 2 days of milk in advance before the MRI scan. They can continue breastfeeding when the contrast dye is removed from their system through urine, which usually takes 24 hours.

MRI side effects | Anxiety

Conventional MRI machine might create noise which sometimes reaches to a high rate of 100 Hz/s, equivalent to the noises generated from a drill machine and high-speed train. The harsh and strong sound can create unease and anxiety in patients. Besides, children or patients with claustrophobia might feel scared and experience a choking sensation after getting inside the assessment room and scanner. If this is the case, the attending doctor or radiologist will provide appropriate assistance, including allowing family members to keep the patients company during the assessment, and arranging a tour in the room and scanner for them before the actual scan takes place. Also, patients could get a small dose of sedatives if needed so that they can proceed with and complete the MRI scan under a relaxed state.

Are there any diagnostic methods that can replace MRI?


MRI is not the only imaging technique available for cancer scanning. There are various imaging procedures with different benefits and uses. Patients should consult their doctor and pick the scanning method that fits their actual diagnostic needs.

X-Ray

癌症檢查-X光片

Benefits:Generate detailed images of internal body structures

Cancer Treatment:Breast cancer screening and diagnosis, including 3D mammography.

Level of Radiation:Minimal level of radiation

Ultrasound

超聲波

Benefits :Detect the real-time changes in organs but with a decreased sensitivity for tissues like bones and a lower imaging resolution.

Cancer Treatment : Cancer scanning such as prostate ultrasound and bladder ultrasound.

Level of Radiation : No ionizing radiation

Computer Tomography (CT)

電腦斷層掃描控制室

Benefits : Capture the details of internal structures from many angles and produce two-dimensional and three-dimensional images.

Cancer Treatment : Applied to various cancer diagnoses.

Level of Radiation :A higher level of radiation that X-Ray but there is a low-dose CT scan

For more information

Positron Emission Tomography/Computed Tomography(PET-CT)

正電子放射斷層掃描(PET-CT)正面

Benefits : Generate three-dimensional colored images with accuracy further improved by CT and data.

Cancer Treatment : Applied to early-stage cancer detection, malignant tumor detection, cancer staging, tumor localization, treatment monitoring.

Level of Radiation : The latest AsiR low-radiation technology can reduce 50% of radiation doses than conventional PET-CT scan.

For more information

Magnetic Resonance Imaging(MRI)

無創磁力共振掃描儀器控制室

Benefits : Produce detailed images of the soft-tissue masses and nerves.

Cancer Treatment : Detect the location and changes of the tumor.

Level of Radiation : No ionizing rediation

Non-invasive MRI machine – GE Optima MR450W GEM


Our clinic uses the non-invasive MRI machine, GE Optima MR450W GEM, that combines the benefits of wide-bore MRI technology and cancer treatment planning, enabling precise targeting of tumors and a reduction in side effects. It also comes with advanced noise reduction technologies which provide comfort to patients during the scanning without compromising image quality.

This new system entails a wide range of cutting-edge features, such as magnetic resonance elastography (MRE) which measures the stiffness of liver tissues, elucidating liver conditions in more detail than any other conventional imaging techniques without the need of an invasive assessment. Another feature is IDEAL IQ which delivers whole liver 3D coverage and provides a non-invasive, quantitative assessment of triglyceride fat content in the liver, facilitating the monitoring of the changes of fat content in the liver.

HKIOC Services


HKIOC provides a wide range of services for medical assessment including imaging scanning and interventional radiological services. They are:

● Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)
Positron Emission Tomography/Computed Tomography(PET-CT)
● PET/CT-MRI
Computer Tomography(CT)
● Interventional radiology and digital subtraction angiography
● 3D mammogram
● Ultrasound
● X-Ray
● Blood test

Contact Us

Have questions? We're happy to help. Send us a message below and our representative will get back to you within the next 3 working days.

By submitting this Form, you hereby agree that?Hong Kong Integrated Oncology Centre?(HKIOC) may collect, obtain, store and process your personal data that you provide in this form for the purpose of receiving updates, news, promotional and marketing mails or materials from HKIOC.




Return to top of page

• 香港中环花园道3号冠君大厦4楼全层
  • 九龙尖沙咀尔敦道132号美丽华广场A座1908-09室

磁力共振扫描是一种安全、无辐射及无伤害性的造影扫描技术。磁力共振作用及用途广泛,透过强力磁场、无线电波及精密的电脑科技,从多角度拍摄身体内部器官的组织和结构,让医护人员获得详细而精确的影像,从而就每名病人个案作出更准确的诊断。最新的无创磁力共振扫描仪器,更可以将磁力共振副作用风险及检查期间的不适感降至最低。

以下为有关磁力共振副作用、各项医学影像诊断比较、最新磁力共振扫描技术,以及本中心服务的资讯。

磁力共振扫描作用

磁力共振拥有极高的软组织对比度,常应用于脑部、脊椎神经、关节、心脏、腹部内脏及血管等检查。以癌症检查为例,磁力共振有助诊断肿瘤的位置、分期、亦有助监测肿瘤于治疗前后的变化,包括有否出现扩散等等。医生会根据病人的身体状况决定是否使用磁力共振扫描来进行检查。磁力共振扫描过程约为30分钟。

 

磁力共振扫的磁场强大,对金属特别敏感,故此检查期间身上不可携带任何金属物品,以免发生意外。凡于身体植入电子仪器的病人,例如心脏起搏器、金属脊椎、脑部动脉瘤夹、植入式助听器等,一律不建议进行磁力共振检查。对于镶有假牙的人士则没有影响。

磁力共振副作用包括些什么?

由于磁力共振不涉及任何电离辐射,因此不会对人体带来电离辐射的有害影响。接受磁力共振扫描后一般不会引起不适,可如常工作及进行日常活动。有少数情况可能出现对造影剂呈过敏反应。

  • 磁力共振副作用|造影剂过敏

造影剂经由静脉注射,十分安全,但并非所有个案都需注射显影剂。有部分人可能会对造影剂过敏,大约有1%会出现轻微反应,例如皮肤痕痒、噁心、注射部位感到疼痛、寒冷、有异常热感。

 

至于较严重的造影剂过敏徵状,包括支气管痉挛和严重低血压等等。严重肾衰竭或正在接受肾透析的患者,有机会因造影剂过敏而引起肾源性系统纤维化症。造影剂过敏严重或可导致死亡,但属罕见个案。

  • 磁力共振副作用|孕妇

前磁力共振对孕妇的影响属未知之数。怀孕12週以下的孕妇一般不建议进行磁力共振扫瞄,但对哺乳妇女则没有任何影响。如果检查有需要注射显影剂,建议哺乳妇女可以预先抽取检查后48小时内所需份量的人奶,待显影剂随著小便排走后则可如常喂哺。

  • 磁力共振副作用|心理焦虑

传统的磁力共振仪器或会发出声响,有些甚至高达100分贝,噪音值约等同于凿孔机、正在高速运行的列车等,直接令病人产生焦虑和不安的感觉。此外,儿童或幽闭恐惧症患者在进入检查房间及仪器后,亦可能会感到压迫和恐惧。主诊或放射科医生会提供协助,包括允许在家人陪同下进行检查,亦可预先安排患者参观房间和仪器。如有需要,医生可透过注射安全份量的镇静药物,使患者能够在放鬆的状态下完成检查。

有其他诊断方法代替磁力共振扫描吗?

磁力共振扫描并非唯一的影像诊断方法。各项影像诊断方法的特点各有不同,患者可谘查医生意见,根据实际需要而在癌症诊治的不同阶段,选取最合适的检查方案。

X-ray

X-光

优点:清晰呈现体内器官的具体轮廓。

癌症治疗应用:乳癌普查及诊断,包括经电脑重组立体影像的3D乳房x光造影

辐射:辐射量非常小

超声波

优点:观察器官的即时变化,但对骨头等组织的穿透力较低,影像解像度较低。

癌症治疗应用:癌症筛查,例如前列腺超声波、膀胱超声波。

辐射:没有电离辐射

CT Scan

电脑断层扫描(CT)

优点:取得器官特定位置的多个横切面影像,组成二维及三维影像。

癌症治疗应用:多项癌症诊断。

辐射:辐射较X光强,但近年有低剂量电脑断层扫描技术。

了解更多

正电子发射断层扫描(PET-CT)

优点:三维彩色影像,可配合由电脑扫描解剖影像及数据提升精确度。

癌症治疗应用:肿瘤早期诊断、恶性鑑别、判断分期、原发位置、监察治疗成效。

辐射:最新的ASiR低辐射技术能较传统PET-CT扫描,减低50%辐射剂量。

了解更多

MRI

磁力共振扫描(MRI)

优点:以极高影像对比度呈现软组织的形态以及神经脉络。

癌症治疗应用:诊断肿瘤的位置和肿瘤的变化。

辐射:没有电离辐射

无创磁力共振扫描仪器 – GE Optima MR450W GEM

本中心所採用的无创磁力共振扫描仪器 – GE Optima MR450W GEM,结合大孔径磁力共振造影技术及肿瘤治疗模拟定位套件,有助确认肿瘤靶区,提高精准度和减低副作用,并设有静音扫描,令病人在扫描期间更为舒适。

 

新系统亦具备多项先进功能,包括磁力共振弹力造影,可以透过声波追踪肝脏组织硬度变化,比传统技术更有效反映肝脏实况,免却部分入侵性检查。而IDEAL IQ功能可获取整个肝脏的三维造影,量化评估肝脏的甘油三酯脂肪含量,有助监测肝脏脂肪变化。

本中心服务范围

  • 磁力共振扫描(MRI)
  • 正电子发射断层扫描(PET-CT)
  • 三结合正电子电脑断层扫描磁力共振(PET/CT-MRI)
  • 电脑断层扫描 (CT)
  • 3D乳房X光造影
  • 超声波检查