Skip links

Breast Cancer Support – Breast Prosthesis

Is having a breast prosthesis only for cosmetic reasons?

Is having a breast prosthesis only for cosmetic reasons?

Cancer treatment can be overwhelming and brings immense psychological impacts to some cancer survivors. Research studies have shown that more than a third of cancer patients struggled with adjusting to life after cancer. Approximately one-third of cancer survivors reported having experienced persisting negative moods such as depression and anxiety, even two years after cancer treatment.

This is particularly true for breast cancer survivors, as changes in physical appearance following breast cancer treatment can take a drastic toll on their self-confidence and emotional well-being. Breast prosthesis can help them rebuild confidence by restoring the natural look and feel of their breasts and ease the discomfort associated with mastectomy and lumpectomy by relieving stiffness, numbness, and pain in the neck and shoulders, which in turn helps alleviate the adverse impacts on their psychological health.

Breast form with pink travel case - Product shot 2

Breast Cancer Support | Types and Functions of Breast Prosthesis


A breast prosthesis is an artificial breast form that replaces the shape of all or part of the breast that has been removed. Most of them are made from medical-grade soft silicone gel, designed to move, feel, and weigh similar to a natural breast. Prostheses come in a wide variety of shapes, sizes, and weights, so it is essential to schedule a professional fitting with a certified fitter specialist to assist you in selecting and fitting the appropriate prosthesis that meets your individual needs.

Below are the types of breast prostheses:

01. Full or standard breast prosthesis

These are for women who have undergone a mastectomy. They are inserted into specialized bras. A standard prosthesis can be made from different materials including non-weighted foam, which is suitable to wear immediately after breast operations. It also includes silicone of varying weights, which is recommended for regular use after the wounds have healed.

02. Partial or shaped breast prosthesis

Similar in shape to bra pads, a partial breast form is hollow and shaped to fill out the breast outline. It is designed for women who have had part of their breast removed to achieve a balanced look. It is made from silicone, which gives a natural and comfortable feel.

03. Custom breast prosthesis

A breast prosthesis can be custom-made for different occasions such as swimming, hot springs, strapless dresses, and exercise. It can be heat-resistant or sticks directly onto the skin, allowing breast cancer survivors to live their life normally.

Breast Cancer Support|Tips on Choosing Breast Prosthesis


Breast Prosthesis Weight

The optimal weight depends on the weight of the other breast. If both breasts have been removed, choose a prosthesis that you feel most comfortable wearing. If a larger size of a prosthesis is needed, it is recommended to choose those made from lightweight materials. However, it is also important to note that breast forms made from non-weighed materials such as foam might move easily.

Balance

Problems with balance often arise after the removal of one breast. If your cup size is A, the problem will be less severe because each breast weighs between about 100g to 200g. If your cup size is B or C, meaning each breast weighs between 300g to 500g, the impact of the balance problems will be somewhat more noticeable, potentially causing back pain and other pain-related issues. In this case, women who recover from breast cancer are strongly recommended to wear a breast prosthesis.

Lifestyle

Given the humid weather in Hong Kong, you should consider choosing a breast prosthesis with a comfortable and breathable design, especially if you happen to be an outdoor person.

Breast Cancer Support|Breast Reconstruction


In general, breast reconstruction with breast implants takes place about six to eight weeks after mastectomy or lumpectomy when the wounds and scars have been healed, and swelling has reduced.

Implant reconstruction – The implant is mainly made from silicone gel or saltwater (saline). After a mastectomy, the breast implant can be inserted under your chest muscle in one-go if there is a sufficient amount of tissue available to cover the implant. However, if a large amount of skin has been removed, a tissue expander will be placed between the skin and chest muscle to make room for the final implant.

Autologous or “flap” reconstruction – This method uses tissue transplanted from another part of your body to reconstruct the shape of your breast or breasts.

Cancer Patient Support


HKIOC and HKAOC collaborate to provide a rehabilitation program for cancer patients and their family. It entails a comprehensive list of services tailored to you and your caregivers’ needs, covering diet and nutritional counseling services, clinical psychological services, breast cancer support, PAXMAN scalp cooling treatment, massage therapy, and cancer education, and counselling. Understand More

Contact Us

Have questions? We're happy to help. Send us a message below and our representative will get back to you within the next 3 working days.

By submitting this Form, you hereby agree that?Hong Kong Integrated Oncology Centre?(HKIOC) may collect, obtain, store and process your personal data that you provide in this form for the purpose of receiving updates, news, promotional and marketing mails or materials from HKIOC.




Return to top of page

• 香港中环花园道3号冠君大厦4楼全层
  • 九龙尖沙咀尔敦道132号美丽华广场A座1908-09室

佩戴义乳只是美观需要?

癌症患者康复,并不代表成功走出癌症阴霾。有外国研究发现,超过三分一癌症患者在康复后两年仍然努力适应治疗带来的不适;另外,有三分一癌症康复者表示于治疗完结后两年仍然饱受心理困扰,包括抑郁、焦虑情绪等等。

 

尤其对于乳癌康复者,不论接受全乳切除或局部切除,康复者的身体外观亦会受一定影响,康复者或会失去自信,承受沉重心理压力。人工义乳能够让他们重拾自信,更加可以舒缓全乳切除或局部切除手术带来的不适,包括舒缓肩膀及背部僵硬、麻痹和疼痛,减低心理负面影响。

1042-still-life

乳癌支援|义乳类型及功能

义乳是一种人造的乳房, 主要用于取代因手术而被切除的整个或局部乳房。义乳多由医学用的软矽胶制成, 它们的形状、质感和重量均与女性的乳房相似, 从而为乳癌康复者提供心灵和生理上的弥补。义乳有不同的大小, 重量和形状, 故此量度及配戴义乳的过程必须由专业人员进行。

 

义乳主要可分为以下几类型:

01. 标准义乳

一个完整的义乳, 适合接受了全乳切除的乳癌康复者。义乳需配合义乳专用内衣一并配戴。标准义乳可由不同的物质制成, 其中包括不含重量的海绵设计, 适合刚做完手术的病人, 亦包括由不同重量矽胶所制成的, 适合手术伤口愈合后长时间使用。

02. 局部义乳

局部义乳的形状与胸垫类同, 中心是空洞的设计, 适合接受了局部保乳手术、乳房重建或胸部大小不均的人。目的是帮助女性达致乳房轮廓均称效果。局部义乳的物质与义乳相同,同是采用矽胶,配戴上来舒适又自然。

03. 其他特别功能义乳

配合游泳、浸温泉、穿露肩晚装、运动等等不同需要而设计的义乳,例如备有耐热、黏贴等功能,让乳癌康复者可如常参与社交活动和运动。

乳癌支援|选择义乳小贴士

  • 义乳重量

乳重量-最合适的重量将取决于另一侧乳房的重量,若两个乳房均已移除,可以凭感觉选择最舒适的义乳,如果需要较大尺寸义乳,建议采用较轻盈物料。然而,需注意的是,太轻的物料容易移位,例如海绵。

  • 身体平衡

在切除一边乳房后,身体容易有失衡情况。如果乳房是A级尺码,两边失衡情况较轻,因每边重量约在100至200克之间。若乳房是B、C级,重量便有300至500克,失衡情况可能较严重,容易引起腰痛及其他痛症,建议乳癌康复者必须使用义乳。

  • 生活习惯

香港天气闷热,假如经常会在户外活动,更应考虑与皮肤相贴之处有透气设计的义乳。

乳癌支援|乳房重建手术

一般而言,在乳癌切除手术后约6至8周,当伤口及疤痕完全愈合及消肿,乳癌康复者便可透过乳房重建手术植入皮下的永久义乳,成为身体一部分。

 

内用植入义乳:主要物料分矽胶及盐水袋两种。切除全乳后,若留下的乳房皮肤足够,可透过一次手术植入义乳。若皮肤不足够覆盖义乳,可先进行手术植入临时扩张器加快皮肤生长,再进行第二次手术植入义乳。

 

自体组织移植:利用自身脂肪重塑乳房。

「好.在」癌症支援与复康计划

香港综合肿瘤中心(HKIOC) 及香港港安医院肿瘤中心(HKAOC)一项支援癌症病人及家人的计划。计划涵盖一系列支援与复康服务,包括营养咨询服务、临床心理学家支援、贴心贴身乳癌患者支援、PAXMAN头皮冷冻疗程、纾缓按摩护理及指导、癌症教育活动等。

了解更多