Skip links

Ovarian Cancer Symptoms, Assessment and Treatment

Ovarian cancer is the 6thmost common cancer among women in Hong Kong. According to the statistics provided by the Hong Kong Cancer Registry, ovarian cancer accounts for 3.9% of cancers in women, with 598 new cases diagnosed in 2016. As the 7thleading cause of cancer-related death among women, ovarian cancer killed 229 women in the same year.

Approximately 10% of ovarian cancers are attributable to hereditary causes[1]. Women with BRCA 1 or BRCA 2 mutations have a significantly higher risk of developing ovarian and breast cancer than most women at average risk[2]. To keep ovarian cancer at bay, women with a personal or family history of ovarian cancer should take a genetic test as soon as possible and undergo regular screening for ovarian cancer.

Below is an overview of the latest information about ovarian cancer treatment and options, including ovarian cancer screening, diagnosis and treatment, ovarian cancer symptoms and frequently asked questions.

What is Ovarian Cancer?


Ovarian cancer occurs when cells in the ovary begin to grow abnormally and form a malicious tumor. There are three major types of ovarian cancer varying in the location the abnormal cell growth takes place. Approximately 90% of cases are epithelial ovarian cancer that develops from the cells covering the surface of the ovary. Another type is stromal tumor. It develops from connective tissue cells that hold the ovary together and those that produce the female hormones. The third type is germ cell tumor which becomes cancerous from the cells that produce the ova or eggs. Germ cell malignancies tend to occur in teenagers and women before their thirties.

What is Ovarian Cancer?


卵巢癌的症狀

If the following ovarian cancer symptoms persist, consult your doctor as soon as possible:

  1. Pelvic or abdominal pain or cramping
  2. Abdominal fullness, bloating or pressure
  3. Ingestion or upset stomach
  4. Changes in appetite, such as a loss of appetite or feeling full sooner
  5. Nausea
  6. A more frequent or urgent need to urinate
  7. Constipation
  8. Menstrual irregularities, or unexplained bleeding after menopause
  9. Unexplained fatigue
  10. Pain during sexual intercourse[3]

Ovarian cancer symptoms are not apparent in the early stages until the disease has progressed to an advanced stage. Most of the ovarian tumors in the early stage are hard or impossible to feel. Most of the time, ovarian cancer symptoms tend to be mistaken for minor ailments such as stomachache and abdominal pain. Statistically, stromal tumor is relatively easier to be detected and diagnosed in the early stages, as compared with other types of ovarian cancer.

Ovarian Cancer Causes and Risk Factors


懷孕女性

It is unclear what causes ovarian cancer so there are no proven ways to effectively prevent it. In Hong Kong, the median age of a woman diagnosed with ovarian cancer is 53. In general, women’s lifetime risk of ovarian cancer before the age of 80 is 1.3%. However, if a woman has mutations in either BRCA1 or BRCA2 genes, her chances of getting ovarian cancer will increase by 44% and 17%, respectively[4]. A family history of ovarian cancer, breast cancer or uterine cancer will also significantly increase the risk of developing ovarian cancer.

Ovarian cancer risk factors include:

  1. Never having a full-term pregnancy
  2. Being overweight or obese
  3. Smoking
  4. Using hormone therapy
  5. Having a family history or personal history of ovarian cancer, breast cancer or uterine cancer
  6. Mutations in BRCA1 or BRCA2 genes
  7. Having a period at a younger age
  8. Starting menopause late

Ovarian Cancer Assessment and Diagnosis


Ovarian cancer assessment is comprised of laparoscopy, pelvic examination, blood tests, and imaging tests. The assessment procedure is simple and can be completed within a day at a specialist clinic. Tests that assess ovarian cancer include:

卵巢癌-腹腔鏡檢查

Laparoscopy

The procedure looks at the ovaries and other pelvic organs and tissues in the area, using a thin, lighted tube which is inserted through a small incision (cut) in the lower abdomen. It is a low-invasive screening method for ovarian cancer.

陰道超聲波檢查

Pelvic Exam

During a pelvic exam, the physician examines the patient’s uterus, rectum, and pelvis through her vagina to determine whether there are any lumps developed.

卵巢癌-血液測試

Blood Test

Some patients with ovarian cancer or malignant transformation of benign ovarian tumors will have a higher CA-125 level, although some early-stage ovarian cancer patients have a normal CA-125 level.

正電子放射斷層掃描

Imaging Test

Image Tests include pelvic ultrasound, transvaginal ultrasound, abdominal ultrasound, MRI, PET/CT.

It detects the location of the tumor, examines the spread of cancer cells and helps identify the size and shape of the ovaries.

Genetic Tests

Genetic testing is to look for hereditary cancer. Assessment can be conducted by collecting a saliva or blood sample. This test is recommended to women with a family history of ovarian cancer, breast cancer and uterine cancer.

If the above tests fail to rule out or diagnose ovarian cancer, doctors might need to use surgical methods for assessment, diagnosis, and treatment, collecting live tissue samples for pathological analysis to identify the type of cells and the stage of cancer. If the patient is classified as high risk for ovarian cancer, other assessment tests might need to be administered to confirm the extent of the tumor, including chest and lung X-ray, esophagoscopy and colonoscopy.

Ovarian cancer assessment is also recommended to women with a high risk of developing ovarian cancer but has never displayed cancer symptoms. To rule out the possibility of ovarian cancer or identify the risk of getting cancer, it is particularly important for women with a personal or family history of ovarian cancer, breast cancer or uterine cancer to get BRCA tested as soon as possible. As one of the most well-known hereditary causes that could result in a significantly higher risk of developing ovarian cancer, BRCA-related mutations can be divided into BRCA 1 and BRCA 2 mutation. Before considering a BRCA genetic test, you should consult a doctor, who can refer you to a verified clinical laboratory where lab results will be examined and explained thoroughly by medical professionals.

Once a BRCA gene mutation is confirmed, the doctor normally advises various preventive methods. For example, in the case of women at 40 years old or above or who just gave birth, they could consider removing fallopian tubes and ovaries to reduce the chance of developing ovarian cancer. They could also receive hormone therapy, keeping cells from mutations, and have a routine ovarian cancer assessment[5].

Ovarian Cancer Treatment[6] [7]


The primary ovarian cancer treatment option is surgery plus chemotherapy. The lower ovarian tumor’s grade is, the better the chances of getting cured. Ovarian cancer can be classified into four stages. Stage I means that the cancer tumor is only in the ovary (or ovaries). Stage II means that the cancer tumor is in one or both ovaries and has spread to other organs within the pelvis. Stage III refers to cancer that has spread to the retroperitoneal (pelvic and/or para-aortic) lymph nodes. Stage IV ovarian cancer describes the spread of cancer cells to other major organs such as liver and lung. The amount of surgery will be determined by the cancer stages, including ovaries, fallopian tubes, uterus, greater omentum, surrounding lymph nodes and other tissues that have spread to other areas of the body.

Frequently Asked Questions About Ovarian Cancer Screening and Treatment


Ovarian cancer surgery does not necessarily affect the patients’ ability to get pregnant and have a baby. If the patients are at a young age when diagnosed and with early-stage ovarian cancer, it might be possible that the physician only removes the affected ovary, leaving behind the womb and fallopian tube for hormone production and reproductive function.

The doctor will determine according to the patient’s health and post-operative condition. The purpose of chemotherapy is to minimize the chances of ovarian cancer recurrence. For patients with recurrent ovarian cancer who might need to receive second-line chemotherapy treatment, the choice of chemotherapeutic drugs will depend on the patients’ past reactions to treatment and side effects. Besides, if the tumor is inoperable by nature or because of the size, chemotherapy treatment might be administered to shrink the size of their tumor for a better chance of operability and cure.

Ovarian cancer surveillance to monitor for potentially recurrent ovarian cancer is the key. This includes a routine pelvic exam, CA-125 blood test, chest X-Rays, and abdominal CT.

References:

  1. https://www.cancer-fund.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Ovarian-Pdf-2015C.pdf
  2. https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/genetics/brca-fact-sheet#q2
  3. https://www.cancer-fund.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Ovarian-Pdf-2015C.pdf
  4. https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/genetics/brca-fact-sheet#q2
  5. https://www.hkam.org.hk/news/press_release/130528_HKAM_BRCA_statement_Chi_Final.pdf
  6. https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/ovarian-cancer/diagnosis-treatment/drc-20375946
  7. https://www21.ha.org.hk/smartpatient/SPW/zh-HK/Disease-Information/Disease/?guid=e7cdd1a8-8f9c-4c59-9f5f-7cffe95d93fa

Contact us

Have questions? We're happy to help. Send us a message below and our representative will get back to you within the next 3 working days.

By submitting this Form, you hereby agree that?Hong Kong Integrated Oncology Centre?(HKIOC) may collect, obtain, store and process your personal data that you provide in this form for the purpose of receiving updates, news, promotional and marketing mails or materials from HKIOC.




Return to top of page

• 香港中環花園道3號冠君大廈4樓全層
  • 九龍尖沙咀彌敦道132號美麗華廣場A座1908-09室

卵巢癌排行本港女性常見癌症第6位,根據香港癌症資料統計中心數據顯示,卵巢癌佔所有女性癌症病例的3.9%,於2016年診斷出598宗新病例,同時是女性癌症之中的第7大殺手,同年奪去了229人的性命。

 

值得注意的是,有約10%卵巢癌與遺傳有關 ,其中女性體內如帶有BRCA1或BRCA2基因突變,患上卵巢癌和乳癌的風險比一般人高數十倍 。如果曾患乳癌或家庭中有成員患乳癌,應盡早接受基因檢測和定期接受卵巢癌檢查,及早監測癌症風險。

 

以下為關於卵巢癌治療的最新資訊和服務概覽,包括由診斷至治療期間,患者對卵巢癌病徵、卵巢癌檢查與治療的常見疑難與解答。

卵巢癌是什麽?

卵巢癌是指細胞在卵巢中失去控制,不停繁殖增生而形成的惡性腫瘤,可按生長位置而分為三大類。有達90%個案屬上皮性卵巢癌,此類癌細胞最初長於覆蓋卵巢外部的上皮層薄層組織。另外,有少數癌變個案發生於卵巢癌內的女性荷爾蒙激素細胞,稱之為性索間質癌。第三類是生長於負責製造卵子的細胞的癌變,稱為生殖細胞卵巢癌,多數患者為未滿30歲之婦女。

如果持續出現下列卵巢癌病徵,請向醫生求診。

卵巢癌的症狀

  • 骨盆和腹痛
  • 腹部腫脹
  • 肚脹及胃灼熱
  • 食慾不振
  • 噁心
  • 容易尿急和尿頻
  • 便秘
  • 月經不規律,又或者過了更年期後忽然出血
  • 疲勞
  • 性行為時感到疼痛

初期卵巢癌病徵並不明顯,加上女性骨盆腔範圍寬廣,即使腫瘤直徑生長至數厘米,亦可能無法從表徵察覺出來,病徵更常被誤作一般胃痛或腹痛。從統計學上來看,性索間質癌的病徵則比其他類型的卵巢腫瘤,較早被察覺和診斷出來。

卵巢癌成因與風險因素

卵巢癌成因未明,往往令婦女防不勝防。在香港,確診卵巢癌的年齡中位數為53歲。一般而言,在80歲前罹患卵巢癌的終生風險則約為1.3%,但女性體內如帶有BRCA1或BRCA2基因突變,患上卵巢癌的風險可分別上升至44%和17% 。有卵巢癌、乳腺癌或子宮癌的家庭病史者,患上卵巢癌風險顯著上升。

 

卵巢癌風險因素包括:

 

  • 過去從未懷孕
  • 肥胖
  • 吸煙
  • 曾使用荷爾蒙/激素療法
  • 家庭或個人有卵巢癌、乳腺癌或子宮癌的病史
  • 帶有BRCA1或BRCA2基因突變
  • 較早的年齡開始月經
  • 較晚的年齡開始更年期

卵巢癌檢查和診斷

卵巢癌檢查主要包括腹腔鏡檢查 、骨盆腔檢查、血液測試、影像掃描診斷等。卵巢癌檢查程序簡單,可於專科門診即日完成,不必留院。用於診斷卵巢癌的測試和程序包括:

腹腔鏡檢查

檢查期間,醫護人員會通過下腹部的微細切口,插入帶鏡頭的細管和發光管,以檢查腹部和骨盆的內部,屬低入侵性的卵巢癌檢查方法。

骨盆腔檢查

醫生經陰道探查子宮、直腸及骨盆腔,包括卵巢內是否出現腫塊或增生。

血液測試

血液測試

部份患卵巢癌或良性卵巢病變的婦女,血液中CA125水平可能有上升情況,但亦有部份早期卵巢癌患者的CA125維持於正常水平。

影像掃描診斷

包括盆腔超聲波、陰道超聲波檢查、腹部超聲診斷、磁力共振掃描(MRI)、正電子放射斷層掃描(PET/CT)等。

影像掃描可以偵測腫瘤所在,檢測癌細胞有否轉移,並有助於確定卵巢的大小和形狀。

基因檢測篩查

遺傳篩查是對遺傳性癌症相關基因的分析,檢查可利用口水或血液樣本進行。建議有卵巢癌、乳腺癌或子宮癌家族病史的人接受基因檢測篩查。

當透過以上診斷方案仍未能排除或確診卵巢癌個案,醫生或需透過外科手術作為檢查、診斷及治療的方法,抽取活組織進行病理檢查,以識別細胞的類別和腫瘤期數。若經醫生評估後屬高危的卵巢癌患者,可能需要透過其他檢查確定癌腫瘤影響的範圍,包括胸肺X光、胃部內視鏡、大腸內視鏡等。

 

卵巢癌檢查亦適用於一些未出現卵巢癌病徵的高風險族群。當中,有卵巢癌、乳腺癌或子宮癌個人或家族病史的人士,建議及早進行BRCA基因檢測篩查,排除或找出患癌的風險。BRCA基因變異是其中一種已知會增加患卵巢癌和乳癌風險的遺傳基因,可分為BRCA1 及 BRCA2 兩大類別。在考慮進行BRCA基因檢測前,建議先向醫生徵詢意見,並由醫生轉介前往已獲認證的化驗所,採用經多重驗證的檢驗方法,並由專業人士仔細分析測試結果的臨床意義。

 

在確認帶有 BRCA 基因變異後,醫生通常會建議不同的預防方法,例如40歲以上或完成生育的女士,可考慮採取卵管卵巢切除手術預防患上癌症的風險,亦可使用特定荷爾蒙類藥物減低細胞變異的機會,並定期進行合適的卵巢癌檢查 。

卵巢癌治療

卵巢癌治療以手術切除配合化療為主。卵巢癌的腫瘤期數越低治癒率越高。?巢癌可分為4期。第1期癌腫瘤只在?巢內出現;第2期的癌腫瘤已伸延至骨盆腔;第3期的癌腫瘤擴散至腹膜或?巴系統;第4期的癌細胞已轉移到肝臟、肺部等身體其他主要器官。手術切除範圍按腫瘤期數而定,包括兩側卵巢、輸卵管、子宮、大網膜、附近?巴結和其他已出現擴散跡象的組織。

關於卵巢癌檢查和治療的常見疑問

  • Q1. 切除卵巢癌後仍可生育嗎?

    卵巢癌手術切除治療不一定會令婦女失去懷孕及生育能力。若患者較為年輕,而且病情只屬早期,有機會在兩個卵巢之中保留其中一個未受癌症影響的卵巢,醫生亦會盡可能保留其中生育器官,例如子宮和輸卵管,以繼續分泌荷爾蒙,保留生育功能。

  • Q2. 接受卵巢癌手術後必需進行化療嗎?

    醫生會根據患者的病情和手術後情況而決定,接受化療的目的是防止癌症復發。對於治療後復發的卵巢癌患者,或有機會需要進行二線化療,化療藥物的選擇取決於患者對過往治療的反應和副作用。另外,如果腫瘤的性質和大小令手術難以切除,患者或需在手術前先接受化療,以縮小腫瘤,提升可接受手術切除的機會。

  • Q3. 卵巢癌手術切除後如何防止復發?

    觀察和監測是預防卵巢癌復發的關鍵,包括定期進行卵巢癌盆腔檢查、CA-125血液檢查,胸部X光檢查和腹部電腦掃描等等。

參考資料:

 

  1. https://www.cancer-fund.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Ovarian-Pdf-2015C.pdf
  2. https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/genetics/brca-fact-sheet#q2
  3. https://www.cancer-fund.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Ovarian-Pdf-2015C.pdf
  4. https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/genetics/brca-fact-sheet#q2
  5. https://www.hkam.org.hk/news/press_release/130528_HKAM_BRCA_statement_Chi_Final.pdf
  6. https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/ovarian-cancer/diagnosis-treatment/drc-20375946
  7. https://www21.ha.org.hk/smartpatient/SPW/zh-HK/Disease-Information/Disease/?guid=e7cdd1a8-8f9c-4c59-9f5f-7cffe95d93fa