Skip links

Breast cancer screening and assessment methods

3D mammogram

A 3D mammogram is used to help detect breast cancer. It can also be used to investigate the cause of breast problems. When women experience any pain, tenderness or discomfort in the breasts, they often become concerned about having breast cancer.In fact, women’s breasts change with age and other biological factors. The vast majority of breast conditions and lumps are benign, such as breast cysts, cysts and fibroadenoma. These types of benign lumps will not turn into breast cancer. With a 3D mammogram, the doctor can diagnose breast cancer more effectively.

Below is information about 3D mammogram, the latest screening technology and our clinic’s screening offerings.

Who should get a 3D mammogram?


If you feel lumps in the breast, you should consult your doctor immediately and get screened, whether it is a benign or a malignant tumour. According to the recommendations of the American Cancer Society, the following groups of women should get screened regularly, even without experiencing any symptoms:

  • All women aged between 35 and 40 should get a 3D mammogram
  • Women aged above 40 should get a 3D mammogram once a year
  • Women who have a family history of breast cancer and who have had breast cancer previously
  • Women who started menstruating younger than age 12 and who have gone through menopause when they are older than 55
  • Women who regularly consume foods with high animal fats
  • Women who smoke, drink alcohol and infrequently exercise
  • Women who have never given birth or gave birth after age 30
  • Women who have taken birth control pills over an extended period of time and who have received hormone therapy for over 5 years

Differentiate between benign breast lumps and breast cancer


Breast pain, nipple discharge or breast lumps are common symptoms of both breast cancer and benign breast conditions. However, breast cancer and breast problems are completely different in diagnosis and treatment. If you feel abnormal changes in the breasts, you should stay calm and reach out to a doctor at your earliest convenience to get a correct diagnosis.

  1. Breast Cancer: This occurs when cells in the breast experience an abnormal growth, damaging normal tissues and invading breast tissues. Breast cancer can spread to axillary lymph nodes and also to other parts of the body such as the lungs, bones, the liver and even the brain. For more information
  2. Fibroadenoma: Most of the time, there are no symptoms associated with this condition. A biopsy can be performed for further evaluation to confirm whether the growing cell tissues are benign or not. In general, surgery is only recommended when the tumour has grown too large or keeps growing.
  3. Breast cyst: The nature of the cyst can be determined through a mammogram. A biopsy may be recommended if there is a complex cyst. As for general cysts, fine needle aspiration may be performed to get rid of the cyst. In general, surgery is only recommended for those with breast cysts who experience great pain or discomfort.
  4. Nipple discharge: This occurs mainly because the endocrine glands are stimulated. It usually happens to women who have just given birth and is caused by a high level of prolactin. In addition, nipples may secrete fluid as a result of immediate side effects of some mental health medications, blood pressure medication and birth control pills. You should see a doctor to get a diagnosis when you feel pain in the breasts or the discharge contains pus or is red and blood-stained.
  5. Breast pain: This condition can be divided into cyclical and non-cyclical. Taking painkillers should help relieve the pain. Over 50% of women reported having experienced cyclical breast pain a week before their periods due to a change in hormone levels. Non-cyclical breast pain is usually caused by wearing bras that are too tight and from over exercising.
  6. Breast hyperplasia: This describes when there are bulges or bumps in the breasts. The swelling is felt usually before the onset of period. Painkillers can help ease the discomfort and pain.

Tips on self breast examination


Most of the breast lumps are first discovered by the patients themselves. Regular self breast examination helps early detection of breast cancer. Follow the steps below to self assess your breast conditions on every second to third day after menstruation:

  1. Stand in front of a mirror – Put your hands on the hips and then raise your arms. Pay close attention to the changes in shape and size of your breasts, such as dimpling, puckering, bulging of the skin, a nipple that has changed position, an inverted nipple (pushed inward instead of sticking out) or fluids discharged from the nipples without stimulation.
  2. Feel your breasts – When you are in the shower, use a firm and smooth touch on your breasts and nearby area to feel if there are any lumps.
  3. Lie down – Use your fingers and move in circles on the sides of the breasts, armpits and the middle of the breasts. Move from the outer edge of your breasts to the nipples three to four times to feel if there are any hard lumps.

Latest technology: Hologic 3D Mammogram


3D mammograms work by using x-rays to produce images of breast tissues which are brought together to create a crystal-clear 3D reconstruction of the breast in order to detect lumps, tumours or other abnormalities. The technology has been approved by the FDA to detect breast problems and for breast cancer screening. This technology is not only able to reduce the chance of cancer cells spreading to lymph nodes but also is able to significantly reduce the death rates of breast cancer. HKIOC provides the advanced Hologic 3D mammogram that is an improved version of previous technology, offering a range of advantages as below:

01. Higher accuracy

The accuracy is improved by 40-51% as compared to traditional 2D mammogram which reduces the impact on diagnosis caused by overlapping tissue more effectively.

02. More accurate diagnosis

Detect breast lumps, abnormal structure and dense breast tissues more effectively for a clearer evaluation of the scope and the nature of breast conditions.

03. Lower chance of second assessment

Lower the chance of second assessment by 40%.

04. Improved comfort

Images undergo less compression without compromising the quality through the use C-View technology that reduces the compression on the breast during the procedure.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)


The test will first project low-dose x-ray to the breasts and produce images of them from different angles. The computer will then calculate the results and piece the 1mm images of breast tissues together to produce an integrated assessment in clarity, allowing breast cancer to be detected early. Before the test, you will be asked to remove any clothing above the waist, as well as any jewelry or other objects that might interfere with the imaging process. You will have to wear a robe that is used for x-ray assessments.

Patients should avoid putting perfumes, creams, body deodorant, oils, powder or foamed lotions on the body on the day of the test, as these products might affect the accuracy of the results.

The procedure usually takes around 20 to 30 minutes.

The radiologist will assist the patient to put her breasts in the right position, which will be held in place with two compression plates for assessment. As the patient will experience pressure on their breasts, there might be discomfort for a few seconds.

If you may be pregnant or are confirmed to be pregnant, please let your doctor or radiologist know.

Our clinic’s services


Our clinic provides a range of advanced cancer screening and assessment to help reach a correct diagnosis.

  • 3D mammogram
  • MRI
  • CT
  • PET-CT
  • PET-CT-MRI
  • Ultrasound

Learn More

Contact Us

Have questions? We're happy to help. Send us a message below and our representative will get back to you within the next 3 working days.

By submitting this Form, you hereby agree that?Hong Kong Integrated Oncology Centre?(HKIOC) may collect, obtain, store and process your personal data that you provide in this form for the purpose of receiving updates, news, promotional and marketing mails or materials from HKIOC.




Return to top of page

• 香港中環花園道3號冠君大廈4樓全層
  • 九龍尖沙咀彌敦道132號美麗華廣場A座1908-09室

3D乳房X光造影除用於乳癌普查,也能夠診斷良性乳房問題。女士每當察覺乳房不適,往往聯想到乳癌。事實上,女性乳房的狀態受到年齡或者其他生理因素影響,而大部分乳房問題和乳房腫塊屬於良性,例如乳腺水囊、水瘤、纖維瘤等等,這類良性腫塊不會轉變為乳癌。透過乳房X光造影檢查,醫生能夠有效地作出初步的診斷。

 

以下為有關3D乳房X光造影介紹、最新技術以及本中心服務的資訊。

誰應該接受3D乳房X光造影?

女士如發現乳房有腫塊,應立即找醫生檢查,透過檢查分別出腫瘤是良性或是惡性,切勿諱疾忌醫。而據美國癌症協會建議,以下女士即使未出現任何徵狀,亦應該接受檢查:

  • 所有35至40歲的女士應進行首次檢查
  • 40歲後的女士應每年接受一次乳房X光造影檢查
  • 乳癌家族史或曾患有乳癌的患者
  • 12歲以前初經以及55歲以後停經者
  • 長期進食高動物脂肪食物
  • 吸煙、嗜酒、缺乏運動
  • 從沒有生育過或三十歲以後首次生育
  • 長期服用避孕藥或接受賀爾蒙補充療法5年以上者

認識良性腫塊與乳癌

乳房疼痛、乳頭分泌、感覺到乳房有腫塊等等,不論是在惡性腫瘤個案或良性乳房問題中,都是常見的徵狀。然而,乳癌與其他乳房問題在診斷和治療上都不盡相同。婦女如察覺乳房異像,建議及早求醫得到正確的診斷結果,以免因而感到過度驚恐,甚至諱疾忌醫。

  1. 乳癌:指乳房不正常細胞失控地增生,破壞健康組織和侵襲乳房組織,形成乳癌,更可以擴散至腋下淋巴腺,以至身體其他部位如肺部﹑骨骼﹑肝臟甚至腦部。了解更多
  2. 乳房纖維瘤:大部分沒有徵狀,可以利用幼針抽取組織作進一步化驗,以證實增生的細胞組織是否屬良性,如非纖維瘤的體積太大或不斷增生,一般毋須馬上進行切除手術。
  3. 乳腺水瘤:可以透過乳房X光造影檢查分辨水瘤的性質。較複雜的囊腫有需要作活組織檢查,至於普通囊腫,可用幼針抽走囊腫液體,令水瘤即時消失,但一般而言,如患者未有任何不適,則無須進行手術。
  4. 乳頭分泌:多由乳腺受內分泌刺激而產生,常見於婦女產後引致體內乳激素過高所致。此外,乳頭分泌亦可能是某類精神科藥物、降血壓藥、避孕藥的即時副作用。較嚴重是乳頭分泌伴有含膿、紅腫、疼痛、帶血等情況,需及早接受檢查,排除患上乳癌的機會。
  5. 乳房脹痛:可分為週期性及過勞受損,服用普通的止痛藥物可幫助舒緩痛楚。超過半數婦女都曾在來經前一星期,因月經週期荷爾蒙水平變化而經歷週期性乳房脹痛,屬正常生理現象。過勞受損乳房脹痛多由穿戴過緊的胸圍和過度運動引起。
  6. 良性乳腺增生:指乳房整體較為凹凸不平的情況,多在月經前較明顯脹痛,可服用普通的止痛藥物以舒緩痛楚。

自我乳房檢查小貼士

大部分的乳房腫塊都是在自我檢查時發現,定時作自我檢查有助及早發現乳癌。婦女可以於每月經期完畢後的第2至3日,進行以下自我乳房檢查步驟:

  1. 在鏡前觀察:將雙手放在腰部, 高舉雙臂,細心觀察乳房在形態和大小上有無變化。例如皮膚上有沒有點狀凹陷、乳頭有否縮陷或有自動流出的分泌物等。
  2. 輕壓:站立淋浴時,可以在濕滑的皮膚上,用手指輕壓乳房及四圍,感覺範圍內有沒有硬塊。
  3. 仰臥:分別於乳房內側、乳房外側、腋窩及乳房之間位置,以手指平壓繞圈按摩,可由乳房外圍不斷打圈至乳頭位置,每次檢查打三至四圈,留意有否硬塊。

最新技術:Hologic 3D乳房X光斷層造影

3D乳房X光造影的原理是透過X光線拍攝乳房組織,再經由電腦重組立體影像,以了解乳房結構並偵察腫瘤和微鈣化點。3D乳房X光造影技術已獲得美國食品藥物管理局(FDA)的認可,用於乳病的診斷及乳癌普查。及早診斷乳癌,不但能減低癌細胞蔓延至淋巴結節的機會,更可有效地降低其死亡率。香港綜合影像診斷中心所提供的Hologic 3D乳房X光斷層造影,有別於過往的技術,為病人帶來以下好處:

更高的準確性

較傳統2D乳房造影,其準確度提高40至51%; 有效消除因乳腺組織重疊而對診斷所帶來的影響

更精確的診斷

有效地偵察乳房腫塊、結構扭曲及不對稱的密度組織; 更清晰地分析病灶範圍和性質

減低重照的機會率

降低病人需重照的機會率達40%

提高舒適度

使用較少的按壓力而不影響其影像質素; 使用C-View技術,縮短乳房按壓的時間

常見問題

  • 乳房造影的檢查過程是怎樣的?

    檢查會將低劑量X光投射至乳房,並從幾個角度拍攝乳房情況。電腦會進行運算,並將每幅為1mm厚的乳房組織圖像重組起來,令檢查結合更為清晰,及早發現乳腺癌。過程中,您需要將衣服褪到腰部,並放低隨身物品,穿上一套適用於X光檢查的長袍。

  • 接受乳房造影檢查前應做哪些準備?

    檢查前當日應避免使用香水、乳霜、止汗劑、精油、香體露、爽身粉、潤膚油或將帶有泡沫性質的液體塗上身體。因為這些產品有機會影響影像的準確性。

  • 3D乳房X光造影檢查需時多久?

    檢查一般需時大約二十至三十分鐘。

  • 3D乳房X光造影檢查期間會感到不適嗎?

    放射診斷師會協助病人將其乳房放於檢查平台上,並適當地用膠塊施壓及固定乳房,由於乳房被按壓,所以病人有可能感到數秒的不適,但不適的情況是能夠接受的。

  • 什麽病人不建議進行檢查,或需於咨詢主診醫生或放射診斷師?

    如懷疑或確定懷孕,請於檢查前告知醫生或放射診斷師。

本中心服務範圍

本中心提供多項精準先進癌症檢查及診斷。

  • 3D乳房X光造影
  • 磁力共振掃描(MRI)
  • 電腦斷層掃描 (CT)
  • 正電子放射斷層掃描(PET-CT)
  • 三結合正電子電腦斷層掃描磁力共振(PET/CT-MRI)
  • 超聲波檢查

了解更多