• 香港中環花園道3號冠君大廈4樓全層
  • 九龍尖沙咀彌敦道132號美麗華廣場A座1908-09室

人體內有數以萬計的基因,當受到致癌物、輻射、病毒及感染等影響下,或會導致基因變異,使細胞失控地增生,繼而演變成癌症。因此,要治療癌症,必須掌握癌細胞的具體變異路徑,並對症下藥,方能提升治療成效。目前,肺癌、乳癌、卵巢癌等均會應用到基因測試來制訂最適合患者的治療方案。

 

個人化癌症治療方案是近年的醫學新趨勢,即醫生不再單靠癌症的期數或種類,而是透過高效先進的基因檢測,區分出癌細胞的特質及其基因組合,再從眾多藥物中選擇最具針對性的新一代藥物(包括標靶藥物及免疫治療藥物)。不論病人屬於哪類癌症,只要在基因檢測中找出特定的突變基因,便可配對相應的標靶藥物,用藥不再受腫瘤的生長位置所限制。

個人化治療有什麼好處?

個人化癌症治療方案和基因檢測能夠令治療變得更具針對性,務求提高療效及治療的機會之餘,減低治療對患者的副作用,達到更理想的控病效果。在個人化癌症治療方案中,從檢查、確診到治療,均採用跨專科會診模式(Multi-Disciplinary Team,MDT),即由不同專科領域的醫護人員組成的團隊,訂定和整合治療策略。與此同時,香港綜合腫瘤中心第一時間引入最新歐美註冊藥物,為醫生提供更多用藥可能。

 

澳洲一項醫學研究發現,通過MDT訂定治療方案的病例,相比一般診症治療,病人的存活率較高。2015年,當地醫學機構對586名複雜性癌症前期患者進行一項與MDT相關的觀察性研究,結果顯示接受MDT治療患者的五年存活率為63.1%,存活期中位數為16個月,而接受一般診療的患者存活率則為48.2%。

癌症基因檢測作用

癌症基因檢測主要可分為治療及預防兩個目的。測試過程一般是從組織抽取切片樣本或抽血進行化驗,測試結果通常需要幾星期或更長時間。近年醫學界將「液體活檢(liquid biopsy)」應用於癌症診斷上,只需為病人抽取血液、肺積水、心包積水、腦脊髓液等液體,就可檢測腫瘤細胞有否出現基因變異。由於此技術創傷性遠比抽組織低,因而被麻省理工學院評為「十大科技突破」之一。由於液體活檢只須抽取血液或體液檢驗而無需「開刀」,因此尤其適合一些病情已惡化或年長體弱的患者。

 

隨着分子生物學的進步,近年臨床上已可應用「次世代基因定序(Next Generation Sequencing)」這項嶄新技術,同步分析數百以至上千個腫瘤基因,為病理分析提供了大量的數據基礎,令醫療團隊可以對每個病人在不同病情階段的腫瘤作更精準的個人化分析。

治療

已確診的癌症患者可以檢測癌細胞是否帶有特定基因,從而探索用藥新方向。

 

傳統方法會先為癌症患者進行單一的基因檢測,每次所抽取的組織最多足夠用於3組種基因檢測。較新的全面基因體分析伴隨檢測則只需抽檢一次,可以分析癌細胞所有生物標記及300多種基因變異。

 

以肺癌為例,若病人有表面生長因子受體EGFR發生基因突變,病人便可以選擇對應的標靶藥物,瞄準癌細胞的弱點作出攻擊,一來避免以傳統化療大範圍地殺死包括正常細胞在內的大量細胞,讓患者免於出現各種嚴重不適和副作用,二來療效也會較為理想。

預防

有癌症家族史的高風險人士可以透過基因檢測,評估患癌風險和制訂跟進監測方案。目前已知的遺傳性癌症基因約有50多種。

 

以卵巢癌為例,BRCA基因突變會增加患上乳癌和卵巢癌的機會,風險較一般女性高出10倍及50倍。在一般人群之中,有1%的人會發生BRCA1或BRCA2基因突變。而在已確診的乳癌患者中,約有10%至15%人被發現帶有上述其中一項基因突變。

嶄新個人化療程選擇

標靶藥物

針對有特定基因突變的癌症,對某一種靶點作出攻擊,截斷癌細胞生長。例如ROS1型基因變異肺癌可以採用「克唑替尼」酪氨酸激酶抑制劑。研究發現,超過70%肺癌患者服用「克唑替尼」後腫瘤變小,而且服用「克唑替尼」後的16個月,癌細胞腫瘤沒有惡化。

免疫治療

免疫治療是透過阻斷癌細胞發出的誤導訊號,令自身免疫系統能夠重新認出並攻擊癌細胞。簡單來說,身體內的T細胞(T-cell)是攻擊癌細胞的一種免疫細胞,但當癌細胞釋放PDL1抗原,對PD-1蛋白造成干擾,就會令免疫檢查點(checkpoint)—PD-1機制受影響,關閉T細胞的功能。免疫治療的抗PD-1 藥物,能夠重啟T細胞功能,狙擊癌細胞。

 

目前已有7種免疫治療藥物獲美國FDA批准,可用於治療數十種癌症,包括肺癌、肝癌等。同時,有超過2,500個臨牀實驗正在各國進行。

聯合療法

個人化療程除了包括使用新一代藥物之外,醫生亦會按照癌症患者的情況,彈性訂定和混合各種治療方法。例如一些原本不適合接受腫瘤切除手術的患者,可於進行手術前先接受化學治療(化療)縮小腫瘤,增加接受手術的機會;一些患者亦會於完成化療後再接受放射治療(電療),以徹底清除體内剩餘的癌細胞。醫生亦會根據患者情況,度身設計在家化療或日間癌症治療方案。

其他嶄新療法

CAR-T療法是從病人身上抽取無法辨識癌細胞的T細胞,嵌入特別的基因,再將經改造的T細胞輸回病人體內,以殲滅癌細胞,目前獲批用於治療淋巴癌。

• 4/F., Champion Tower, 3 Garden Road, Central, Hong Kong
  • Unit. 1908-09, 19/F, Mira Place Tower A, 132 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui

Humans have tens of thousands of genes. When one is exposed to carcinogens, radiation, viruses, or infection for an extended period of time, genetic mutations can result, leading to an abnormal growth in cells and thereby cancer. For treating patient cancer, it is necessary to identify how the cancer cells grow and divide so that the patients can be treated with more individualised medical treatment plans to optimise clinical outcome. Currently, genetic testing has been used to help patients with lung cancer, breast cancer, or ovarian cancer to develop a cancer treatment plan that meets their needs.

 

Personalised cancer therapy has been gaining traction as a new medical development in cancer treatment. Instead of relying on the stage and type of the cancer, doctors can, after identifying the nature and genetic sequences of cancer cells through advanced genetic tests, then target cancer cells with the new generation of precision medicines, including targeted therapy and immunotherapy. Regardless of the type of cancer, genetic tests can identify the mutated genes and allow precision medicines to effectively target and attack cancer cells without being restrained by the location of the cancer tumour.

What are the benefits of personalised therapy?

Personalised cancer therapy and genetic tests allow a more precise targeting of cancer cells, not only improving the effectiveness of treatment and chances of complete recovery, but also reducing the side effects on patients. From screening and diagnosis to treatment, personalised cancer therapy is carried out by a Multi-Disciplinary Team (MDT) that consists of specialist medical professionals across disciplines working together to develop the most suitable treatment plan to meet the needs of the patient. HKIOC has always been on the forefront in introducing new medicines registered in the USA and Europe, allowing for a wide range of treatment combinations.

 

An Australian medical study found that the survival rate of patients who received MDT cancer treatment was higher than that of those receiving general cancer treatment. In 2015, a local medical institute conducted an observational study with 586 early-stage cancer patients to investigate the effectiveness of MDT in cancer treatment. The results demonstrated that the five-year survival rate of patients receiving MDT cancer treatment was 63.1% with a median of 16 months, while that of patients who received general cancer treatment was just 48.2%.

The purpose of genetic testing for cancer

Genetic testing is mainly used for two purposes: cancer prevention and treatment. It is performed on a sample of blood, hair, skin, or other tissue. The results usually take weeks or even longer to return. In recent years, liquid biopsy has been increasingly applied to diagnostic tests. This method is able to identify genetic mutations through the sampling and analysis of non-solid biological tissue such as blood, pulmonary oedema, pericardial fluid, and cerebrospinal fluid. Because this method is a non-invasive alternative to surgical biopsies, liquid biopsy has been named by MIT as one of the “10 Breakthrough Technologies”. It is particularly suitable for patients with advanced cancer or for those who are old and weak to undergo surgery for tissue biopsy, as the test can be done with a sample of blood.

 

There have been major advances in molecular biology in the past years, one of them being Next Generation Sequencing technology (NGS). This cutting-edge technology has been applied clinically, enabling researchers to conduct DNA sequencing much more quickly with high levels of accuracy. This provides a wealth of disease information for medical teams to carry out analysis on patient cancer with more precision at the various different stages.

TREATMENT

Cancer patients can undergo a genetic test to look for specific genes, opening up possibilities for new combinations of therapy.

 

Conventionally, molecular genetic tests are performed on cancer patients. Each tissue sample taken can only be used for three different genetic tests. With the new genetic sequencing technology, biopsy is needed only once to identify all the biomarkers and 300 different types of genetic mutations in cancer cells.

 

Taking lung cancer as an example, if there is a mutation in the epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR), patients can opt for precision medicines to identify the growth of cancer cells and attack them with accuracy. Unlike traditional chemotherapy, this treatment method minimizes the damage to normal cells and thus significantly reduces the side effects on the patients. It is also more effective at treating cancer.

PREVENTION

Patients who have a family history of cancer can assess their risk of cancer and formulate plans to monitor and prevent cancer through genetic tests. About 50 hereditary cancer syndromes have been identified so far.

 

With ovarian cancer as an example, patients with BRCA mutations have 10 to 50 times higher risk of developing breast cancer and ovarian cancer, respectively, as compares those who don’t have these mutated genes. 1% of females experience BRCA1 or BRCA2 genetic mutations. Among those who are diagnosed with breast cancer, about 10-15% of them are found to have one of these two genetic mutations.

New personalised therapy options

TARGETED THERAPY MEDICINES

This therapy option uses drugs or other substances to block the growth and spread of cancer by interfering with the cancer’s specific genes, proteins, or the tissue environment that contributes to the cancer growth. For example, Crizotinib, a tyrosine kinase inhibitor, is used to treat ROS1 positive lung cancer and studies have demonstrated that over 70% of lung cancer patients who took Crizotinib found their tumours reduced and experienced no disease progression for 16 months after taking it.

IMMUNOTHERAPY

Immunotherapy helps improve or restore immune system function to identify and attack cancer cells by blocking the signals transmitted by cancer cells. In other words, T-cells are a type of immune system cells that can attack cancer cells. However, when cancer cells are bound to immune checkpoint inhibitors such as PD-1, T-cells are kept from killing cancer cells. Anti-PD-1 immunotherapy drugs restore the function of T-cells and help destroy cancer cells.

 

At the moment, 7 types of immunotherapy drugs have been approved by the FDA (USA) to be used in the treatment of dozens of cancers including lung cancer and liver cancer. At the same time, over 2,500 clinical trials have been carried out across countries to investigate the applications of immunotherapy in cancer treatment.

COMBINED THERAPY

Apart from the use of new-generation precision medicines, personalised cancer therapy also includes combined therapies that are specially designed based in the patient’s condition and individual needs. Patients who were previously deemed as ineligible for surgery may receive chemotherapy to shrink the tumour, thus potentially enabling the patient to undergo a surgical resection. Furthermore, it may also be used for some patients to eliminate the remaining cancer cells post-surgery. Doctors can develop a treatment plan based on the patient’s condition and individual needs. For example, allowing them to receive infusion chemotherapy treatment at home or at outpatient cancer clinic at the HKIOC Daycare Medical Centre.

OTHER NEW CANCER THERAPIES

Chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T-cell therapy is a form of cancer immunotherapy that uses specially altered T cells from the patient’s own immune system to destroy cancer cells. A sample of their T-cells are collected and then modified to produce special structures called CARs on their surface. Currently, it has been approved for use in lymphoma treatment.

Biotherapy

Uses living substances or or suppresses the body’s immune system to help fight the cancer.