• 香港中環花園道3號冠君大廈4樓全層
  • 九龍尖沙咀彌敦道132號美麗華廣場A座1908-09室

跨專科醫護團隊 周全治療方案

患者於傳統醫院接受治療,不時需要來回奔波與外科、臨床腫瘤科、放射科等各個專科部門,在治療過程中遇上大小問題,均需要等待漫長的轉介過程,不但耗費大量時間和精力,更對患者構成沉重的心理壓力。有見及此,我們建立了一支跨專科醫護團隊,在我們高度熟練的多學科醫學專業人員的共同努力下,確保每一位患者都能得到最全面和最個人化的治療建議。

跨專科癌症治療團隊是什麼?

癌症治療涉及外科醫生、臨床腫瘤科醫生、放射科醫生、藥劑、精神健康、營養等各個專科界別。一支完整的跨專科醫護團隊能夠讓患者及其家屬可一次過與各專科醫生和醫護專才團隊見面,獲得更周全的意見。

腫瘤科醫生及外科醫生有什麼分別?

腫瘤科醫生對治療各類癌症有豐富經驗,能為患者提供專業的檢查、診斷、醫治及跟進。一般而言,腫瘤科醫生所負責的範圍涵蓋以非手術處理腫瘤的治療方案。外科專科醫生為癌症患者提供及度身訂造手術治療方案。

跨專科治療有什麼好處?

跨專科會診可節省患者轉介的時間和精力,亦可為患者同時安排多項治療選擇,簡化會診流程,把握治療的黃金機會,外科醫生能夠與放射科醫生一同就患者的化驗結果、病情等方面探討、交流,更可以確保與患者及家屬有充足溝通,迅速訂定最適切治療方案。以下為各類型癌症的跨專科治療應用例子:

直腸癌:把握最佳治療時機

直腸癌腫瘤若接近肛門,患者接受手術時便需要連肛門一併切除,再於腹部開造口排便,患者從此便要帶着造口袋,對生活造成諸多不便。跨專科團隊能夠為患者密切監察病情,採取「觀察等待療法」,視乎患者對化療、電療的反應和腫瘤位置,才決定是否進行直腸切除手術,待腫瘤發惡時才重錘出擊。

 

過往曾有患者確診時只得25歲,相當年輕,因工作需要而時常出國,加上熱愛游泳,故希望避免於腹部開永久造口。由於患者接受化療、電療後,磁力共振檢查顯示腫瘤消失,醫生便建議他採用「觀察等待療法」,至今10年都毋須開刀做手術,腫瘤亦沒有重生,免受手術之苦。

肝癌:發掘更多治療選擇

在治療肝癌時,除了需要顧及腫瘤大小之外,肝硬化的程度及肝功能亦是箇中關鍵,往往需要視乎患者的健康情況及病情,綜合各類方法醫治。根據2018年《柳葉刀》最新發佈的數據,隨著精準醫學和跨專科治療時代的到來,近30年來中國的肝癌5年生存率從不到5%提升至2010-2014年的14.1%,新的醫學方法配合手術,給更多肝癌患者帶來曙光。

 

曾有50餘歲菲律賓籍男患者,因肝癌已經在肝臟擴散,引致出現嚴重腹水,腹腔內淋巴腺受影響,由於肝功能太差,不適合用標靶治療,在菲律賓時被列入「不治」之列。男患者來港求醫後,訂定了跨專科的個人化治療模式方案,包括透過香港的「指定患者用藥計劃」申請使用已於美國或歐洲獲批准使用的免疫治療新藥。於首次治療後,男患者的癌症指數由2000多下降至1000。治療半年後,磁力共振檢查結果顯示男患者的腫瘤明顯縮小,病情亦穩定下來。

腦癌:提升治療成效及精準度

腦癌治療的最大挑戰,在於準確定位腫瘤位置。由於腦部神經線錯綜複雜,腦部手術傷口必須精準細小,以降低影響腦功能的風險。醫生一般會在手術前,先為患者進行磁力共振掃描及全身麻醉,並於手術期間以即時的超音波儀器和導航機,同步監察腫瘤位置。有部分患者可能無法透過手術,將腫瘤完全割除,需先抽取腫瘤活組織作檢驗,由神經外科醫生會與腫瘤科醫生共同制定下一步的治療方案。

 

目前先進的手術輔助儀器可以令腦癌治療更精準,例如腦癌腫瘤性質檢驗準確度高達90%。然而,手術過程必須有賴跨專業團隊合作,包括麻醉科、神經外科、腫瘤科、放射科等等,才能完善治療,提升治療成效。

前列腺癌:加強醫患溝通互信

及早治療前列腺癌能夠令治療成功的機會顯著上升。香港泌尿腫瘤科學會及香港泌尿外科學會的最新「跨專科治療」指引更指出,正接受荷爾蒙治療的前列腺癌患者,若透過跨專科治療,考慮提早同步配合化療,可以有效將荷爾蒙治療失效的時間推遲近20個月,使患者的腫瘤持續更長時間受到控制。

 

然而,前列腺癌患者往往因為感到尷尬,或以為年紀大排尿出現問題很正常,因而延誤治療。曾有位70歲患者,長時間出現排尿困難,後來問題日漸嚴重,幸而家人意識到要求診,患者在家人幾經游說後,願意踏出一步與跨專科治療團隊會面,最終確診早期前列腺癌,並成功靠手術根治,可見當患者有需要作出醫療決定時,跨專科會診能提升病人與家屬的參與度,更容易令醫患達成共識。

頂尖團隊合作:香港港安醫院 ─ 司徒拔道

為回應癌症患者對住院治療及放射治療的需求,香港綜合腫瘤中心遂與抱持相同理念的香港港安醫院腫瘤中心成為策略性合作機構(Strategic Collaboration Party)。

 

匯聚多年與患者一起面對癌症的經驗,香港港安醫院 ─ 司徒拔道於2013年成立香港港安醫院腫瘤中心,結合各界醫療專家、細心的醫護團隊,配合先進科技及設備,由預防、檢查、診斷至個人化的治療方案,為癌症患者提供周全照顧,更有專人於治療期間為患者統籌和跟進,務求貼心照顧每一位患者。

跨專科醫護團隊的角色

  • 腫瘤科專科醫生

    提供專業的檢查、診斷、醫治及跟進。

  • 外科專科醫生

    為癌症患者提供及度身訂造手術治療方案。

  • 放射科專科醫生

    為癌症患者提供精確影像診斷及介入治療。

  • 放射治療師和技術人員

    根據醫生和醫學物理學家的計劃,為每位患者度身訂造定位儀器,並協助策劃和設計放射治療計劃。

  • 醫學物理學家

    能根據腫瘤科醫生的要求,就輻射劑量、治療範圍和位置作精密的計算,以達到既殺死腫瘤又保護正常組織的理想效果為目標。

  • 腫瘤科專科護士

    照顧患者於放射治療和化學治療期間的醫療需要,並提供情緒支援。

  • 腫瘤科專科藥劑師/臨床藥劑師

    提醒患者用藥注意事項,處理患者有關藥物副作用的問題。

  • 註冊營養師

    為癌症患者設計特定餐單,提供飲食建議。

  • 臨床心理學家

    照顧癌症患者及家屬的心理需要,提供情緒輔導。

  • 患者個案統籌主任

    整段治療期間,每名患者將由一位統籌主任全程作「一對一」的專責照顧和跟進,幫助處理行政工作、預約醫生和治療。

• 4/F., Champion Tower, 3 Garden Road, Central, Hong Kong
  • Unit. 1908-09, 19/F, Mira Place Tower A, 132 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui

Multidisciplinary Treatment by HKIOC Medical Oncologist

When receiving treatment in traditional hospitals, it is very common for patients to have to navigate around to meet professionals of different disciplines, like surgery, medical oncology, and radiology. The tiring and complicated process for getting referred across departments also places a significant burden on patient wellbeing, not to mention the waste of time and effort. As such, the HKIOC has established a multidisciplinary team comprised of skilled medical professionals from various departments that aim to provide the most comprehensive and personalized treatment for every patient.

What is a Multidisciplinary Cancer Treatment Team?

Cancer treatments involve surgeons, medical oncologists, and radiologists, as well as specialists from fields like pharmaceutical, mental health, or dietary nutrition. With a complete multidisciplinary medical team, patients and their families need not make separate consultations with each of them, which then allows them to seamlessly receive all the information they may need from one panel meeting with a comprehensive team.

What are the differences between Medical Oncologists and Surgeons?

Medical Oncologists have hands-on experience in dealing with different types of cancer and extensive knowledge in medical oncology. They are usually in charge of non-surgical treatment methods, as well as check-ups, diagnoses, and post-treatment consultation and reviews. Conversely, surgeons are usually tasked to providing the personalized surgical treatments for cancer patients.

What are the advantages of multidisciplinary treatment?

Multidisciplinary treatment saves patients valuable time and effort that may otherwise be wasted on referrals. It also provides patients with multiple treatment options to choose from. By simplifying the treatment process, one can seize a golden opportunity and receive treatment earlier. For instance, surgeons may collaborate with radiologists in examining and exchanging views over a patient’s condition and their laboratory test results. This also ensures thorough communication between patients and their families and allows for the most suitable treatment plans to be rapidly drawn up. The following are some examples of how multidisciplinary treatments applied to various different kinds of cancer.

Rectal Cancer: Seizing the best time to treat

For rectal cancer tumours that are located near to the anus, surgical treatment may require the removal of the anus. To facilitate the removal of waste, doctors may then perform a colostomy for patients, creating an opening for a stoma in the abdomen that connects with the large intestine. The waste is then collected in an external pouch via the opening. However, this method brings a great deal of inconvenience to the patient’s daily life. With a multidisciplinary team of experts, the conditions of patients can be closely monitored. A watch-and-wait approach may then be adopted, such that a thorough evaluation could be made over the patient’s response to chemotherapy and radiotherapy, as well as the tumour’s position, before deciding whether to proceed with surgery. And should the situation not deteriorate any further, surgery may no longer be necessary.

In the past, patients as young as the age of 25 have been diagnosed with rectal cancer. For one such patient, their frequent international business travel and their keen hobby for swimming made a stoma an inadvisable solution. As MRI scans indicated the disappearance of his tumour after receiving chemotherapy and electrotherapy, doctors recommended the patient adopt a watch-and-wait approach. 10 years then passed, and there were no indications of a recurring tumour and, therefore, the patient was able to avoid such a surgery.

Liver Cancer: Discovering additional treatment methods

When treating liver cancer, not only does the size of tumour matter but also the degree of liver cirrhosis and function. As a result, the treatment methods may vary greatly according their status condition. As revealed by the latest study published in The Lancet in 2018, over the last 30 years the 5-year survival rate of liver cancer patients in China has now risen from less than 5% to the 14.1% seen between 2010-2014. With the continuous advancement in precision medicine and multidisciplinary treatments, hope has been brought to more and more liver cancer patients.

 

There was once a case where a Filipino liver cancer patient in his 50s, who due to the cancer having already taken over his liver and causing severe oedema in his abdomen, which had also entered the lymph nodes within his belly; plus, given his poor liver function, he was deemed unsuitable for receiving targeted therapy and was hence designated as ‘incurable’ in the Philippines. Through seeking treatment in Hong Kong, the patient was able to take advantage of tailor-made therapy plans, including the use of new types of immunotherapy medicines approved by the United States and Europe, which were then administered under Hong Kong’s Named Patient Program. His Alpha-Fetoprotein Tumour Marker has since dropped from over 2000 to approximately 1000 after the initial treatment. Within six months, his condition had stabilized, and the tumour had shrunk significantly, as was revealed by MRI scanning.

Brain Cancer: Enhancing outcomes for precision treatments

The major challenge for treating brain cancer is the very important and accurate locating of the brain tumour. Since brain function involves a complex network of nerves, there is a high risk of surgical complication and potential for damaging normal brain function, which can be greatly reduced by making as small an incision as possible. Doctors will usually perform an MRI scan prior to giving the general anaesthesia for the surgery. During the operation, ultrasound neuronavigation monitors the tumour. Some tumours may not be entirely removable through such surgery, and so for these patients living tissue will be taken from the tumour for examination later, which will then provide the basis for neurosurgeons and oncologists to better evaluate subsequent treatment options.

 

State-of-art surgical aids from recent years have boosted the precision of brain cancer treatments. The accuracy in the examination of brain tumour’s state has now reached 90%. However, for surgery to be carried out effectively and efficiently, the cooperation between the different specialties remains vital, which includes but is in no way limited to anaesthesiology, neurosurgery, medical oncology, and radiology.

Prostate Cancer: Improving communication and trust between medical staff and patients

Early intervention with prostate cancer may significantly increase the chance of successful treatment. The multidisciplinary treatment guidelines established jointly by the Hong Kong Society of Uro-Oncology and Hong Kong Urological Association share a similar view. It has been pointed out that should prostate cancer patients who are undergoing hormone therapy adopt chemotherapy concurrently under a multidisciplinary approach, they may have a more durable response to hormone therapy, extending survival for almost 20 months more than other treatment plans. This approach also allows better control over the tumour condition.

 

Nevertheless, many prostate cancer patients delay seeking medical advice. Some may feel embarrassed, while some think that their urinary problems are due to their advancing age. There was once a 70-year old patient that had already had urinary problems for a long time, and his condition only continued to get worse as time went by. Fortunately, his family members were aware of his problems and eventually persuaded him to get some treatment. After meeting with a panel of interdisciplinary experts, he was diagnosed with early-stage prostate cancer and was subsequently treated successfully by surgery. From this we can learn that a multidisciplinary treatment approach brings greater participation for the patients and their family members and helps with creating ties and consensus between the patient and their medical professionals.

Collaboration of Elite Teams: Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Stubbs Road

In response to the needs for cancer patients in receiving in-patient treatment and radiation therapy, the Hong Kong Integrated Oncology Centre has partnered with Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Stubbs Road to become the Strategic Collaboration Party, who have been sharing a common vision now since 2016.

Building on years of experience in cancer therapy, the Hong Kong Adventist Oncology Centre was established by the Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Stubbs Road in 2013. A professional team of medical staff from various disciplines was formed. Together with the introduction of advanced technology and equipment, the centre provides a one-stop solution for cancer patients. From prevention and diagnosis to their personalized treatment and the centre strives to provide meticulous care for every single patient. Each patient is assigned a dedicated coordinator during their treatment process who assists them with their administrative matters and follow-ups as and when necessary.

Roles with a Multidisciplinary Treatment Team

  • Oncologists

    Conducting professional check-ups and diagnosis, as well as to provide treatment and post-treatment services.

  • Surgeons

    Provide tailored surgery treatment plans for patients

  • Radiologists

    Diagnose patient situations with medical imaging and apply intervention where necessary.

  • Therapeutic Radiographer and Technicians

    Exercise the therapy plans designed by medical specialists and medical physicists to deliver radiotherapy treatments to cancer patients. They may also be involved in the organization and design of radiotherapy plans.

  • Medical Physicists

    To ensure maximum efficiency and minimum harm for each treatment, Medical Physicists deliver precise calculations of radiation dosage, therapeutic range, and treatment area as required by Medical Oncologists.

  • Oncology Nurses

    Provide emotional support and patient care to patients, particularly during radiotherapy and chemotherapy

  • Oncology Pharmacists / Clinical Pharmacists

    Remind patients of the precautions of their medications, as well as manage the potential side-effects

  • Registered Dietitians

    Provide recommendations and design meal plans for cancer patients based on their needs and conditions

  • Clinical Psychologists

    Support patients and their family members’ emotional well-being through counselling

  • Cancer Care Coordinators

    Throughout the entire treatment process, each patient will be assigned with a Cancer Care Coordinator that offers personalized care and services. All administrative and liaison matters, including the scheduling of appointments and treatments will be handled by this dedicated coordinator.